Group triggers are one-off messages that you can send to a member of your Workplace community when they join or leave a Workplace group.

This helps to increase bot engagement and to target specific people.

For example, you could send out a welcome message from your New Starter Bot when someone joins your all company group. Or, send out updates for an event when they join the event group. Likewise, when someone leaves a group, you could ask for feedback as to why or trigger an exit interview bot when someone leaves.

To do this, select 'Group triggers' under Auto Replies.


Hit 'Create Group Trigger' and choose whether you want to send the message when someone joins or leaves the group.

Next, select the group(s) that should trigger the message.*

Hit 'Save' and then choose the message you would like to send when someone takes that action and click save again.

You will see that your group trigger has been enabled.

Now, when someone joins my Workplace group 'General', they will be sent a message from my new starter bot.

In the screenshot, so far nobody has triggered my message. When they do that Trigger Count will go up each time the message is triggered by someone joining the General group. Currently, group join group triggers work for open groups which do not need admin approval

You can stop the trigger by deleting it.

*If your group isn't appearing when you search for it, check that you have the 'Read group content' and 'Read group membership' permissions ticked on your integration in Workplace and hit the 'Refresh groups' button on the platform.

Did this answer your question?