Quick Replies allow you to present options in a message to a bot user. They differ from other buttons because they appear prominently above the users keyboard.

When they appear, the keyboard is made less prominent which encourages users to press a button rather than type a response. After the user taps a quick reply they disappear, which prevents users tapping old ones. Due to these features quick replies provide the optimum way to control the users journey through a bot.

You can add up to 13 quick replies to a text part in a message.

How to set up a quick reply

1 – Add a Quick Reply message part

A list of available message parts are found to the right of the message builder. Choose the Quick Reply option.

3 – Give your Quick Reply some settings

Once you add a quick reply give it a label name. This is what your bot users will see. Add emoji by selecting the smiley face.

3 – Set up how you’d like your Quick Reply to work

Select the cog which will display a settings screen.

Choose what you would like to happen when the button is selected by a bot user. The options are:

Send message:

Select the message you’d like to send when the button is selected. You can create a new message by typing a title and selecting ‘create new’.

Broadcast:

This allows you to give the user the option to opt-in or opt-out of receiving broadcast messages. A great tool to build your subscriber list.

Save this information with a user attribute:

This let’s you save the option a bot user has selected for later. You can reuse the information gathered in the bot or download it in a csv. More about this feature.

Increment score and send a message:

This feature is used primarily when creating a quiz. You can use this to increase the users score and send another message.

Reset score and send a message:

This feature is also used primarily at the end of a quiz. Reset the users score so when they take the quiz again, their score is back at zero.

Custom postback:

Developer feature: If you have a custom integration, this is a nice way to know when someone has pressed a specific button. For more info please get in touch.

4 – Save or remove

The option to save the settings will appear when you’ve completed the required information.

You can remove the button and its settings at anytime by selecting ‘remove’.

Did this answer your question?